Why would anyone want a concealed weapon license?

A concealed pistol license can protect you from being charged with and convicted of several crimes in Washington State, often for actions that you may not have known were illegal. 

For example, without a concealed pistol license you can be convicted of a crime if you transport a loaded weapon in your motor vehicle, even if the weapon is in plain sight. Likewise, if you are openly carrying your weapon you can be convicted of a crime if anyone feels that you are handling your weapon in what they consider to be a threatening or menacing fashion, even if it remains in a holster.

How do you obtain a concealed pistol license?

Getting a concealed  pistol license in Washington is intended to be fairly simple, but can sometimes become a complicated process depending on what may or may not appear in your background check. If you have applied for a license in the past and been denied it may be possible to appeal your denial, or fix the underlying issue and reapply.

What can you do if you are denied a concealed pistol license?

If you have been denied a concealed weapon license the law enforcement agency that you applied through is obligated to inform you why you were denied. Our attorneys frequently assist people in appealing their denials in several ways. First we confirm that the reason for your denial is both legal and legitimate, then we take any possible steps to remove the disqualifying issue from your records, finally we will file a case in the appropriate court to contest the law enforcement agency’s improper decision.

Our attorneys regularly-

  • Restore Firearm Rights at both the State and Federal Level 
  • Vacate Disqualifying Criminal Offenses
  • Appeal NICS denials

Contact us today to discuss your case.

206.331.7377
[email protected]

To prevent spam...
What is the opposite of bad?

The first step in acquiring a concealed weapon license is to ensure that you fulfill several qualifications:

  1. You must be at least 21 years old.
  2. You must be a U.S. Citizen or a lawful permanent resident.
  3. You must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by a court.
  4. You must not have warrants for your arrest.
  5. You must not have ever been found to be mentally incompetent, or committed to a  mental institute.
  6. You must have no felony convictions on your record. (This does not include felony convictions that have been vacated.)
  7. You must not have been found to be addicted to, or illegally used, any controlled substances within 12 months.
  8. You must not have been dishonorably discharged from the military.
  9. You must not have violated Washington’s firearm laws 3 or more times in any 5 year period.
  10. You must not be bound by a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening a family member.
  11. You must never have been convicted of assaulting, coercing, stalking, recklessly endangering, violating a no-contact order, or trespassing in the first degree against anyone in your family.
  12. You must never have renounced your U.S. Citizenship.
  13. You must have no criminal charges pending that would prohibit you from obtaining the license if you were convicted.

If you meet all of the above requirements, the State of Washington is obligated to provide you with a concealed pistol license when you apply for one in accordance with Washington Law. To apply you will need:

  1. A valid government issued photo identification, such as a Driver’s License, or other proof that you have resided in Washington State for at least 90 days.
  2. A non-refundable fee that may vary depending on your County. You should contact the agency where you plan to apply to determine what this fee currently is and what forms of payment are acceptable.
  3. A military ID if you are in the military as well as orders that include your station location.

 

You can bring these items to your local law enforcement agency or the County Sheriff’s office, though you should call ahead to confirm the hours that your local enforcement agency accepts concealed pistol license applications. At the agency a law enforcement officer will take your fingerprints and the agency will then conduct a background check before issuing your license. It may take up to 30 days for the background check to be completed for Washington Residents. Once you have your license, it is important to remember that it must be renewed every 5 years in order to remain valid.

Need more information regarding concealed pistol licenses?

LEARN MORE

Website Design